Distilled Vinegar

On the ou website it says distilled Vinegar needs certification because the equipment use can produce chametz. I’m wondering if you would psak the same way.

I do not believe that this is an OU Psak, per se.
With distilled vinegar we attempt to find out what the source of the vinegar is. Once we know the source is not from wheat, then it’s OK.

Sorry you are right. I did not read it through : https://oukosher.org/passover/articles/which-foods-are-chametz-2/

It seems like distilled Vinegar would need a hechsher since batel beshishim would not apply.

1 Like