Is this workout protein kosher?
Microfiltered Protein Blend (Whey Protein Concentrate, Whey Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Hydrolysate, Micellar Casein, Egg Albumin), Gluten-Free Cookie Crumbs (Rice Flour, Sugar, Tapioca Starch, Palm Oil, Cocoa Powder, Corn Starch, Salt, Chocolate Liquor, Natural Flavor, Sodium Bicarbonate, Soy Lecithin), Inulin, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Salt, L-Glutamine, Sucralose, Acesulfame Potassium, Protease, Potassium Citrate, Lactase, L-Leucine, L-Isoleucine, L-Valine, Soy Lecithin
Kosher for Pesach for Sephardim
Hello Rabbi. Thank you for creating this helpful forum.
I just checked the ingredients. Please advise as it shows it is processed in a facility that contains shellfish.
See attached pic.
Kosher for Pesach for all
For allergy issues they point out that the same facility makes items that people might be allergic to. Often even a minute particle can be a problem there.
For Kashrut purposes, tiny particles are not a problem. If there’s any significant amount in s product, it must be listed in the ingredients.
Thank you for clarifying.
The kosher certification industry is relatively new. Most things that observant Jews ate fifty years ago and prior to that did not have a hechsher. There is no halachic requirement for kashrut supervision on most products, except meats, wines, and cheeses. The requirement is to ascertain that the ingredients in the product that you are eating contains no non-kosher items. That’s what we do here. You may be young, but when I was young almost everything we ate was done this way. Eventually, the OU and others made it easier by doing the work for us. But that doesn’t change the law to suddenly require kosher certification. That’s not how Halachah works.