Rennet can also be used to separate milk into solid curds for cheesemaking and liquid whey.

Kvod HaRav,

If rennet can be used to produce liquid whey, why does whey not require rabbinic supervision to be deemed kosher?
I would like to purchase a protein blend called Pro JYM. These are the ingredients:
Protein Blend (Whey Protein Isolate, Micellar Casein, Milk Protein Isolate, Egg Protein), Coconut-Based Creamer (Coconut Oil, Maltodextrin, Food Starch, Mono- and Diglycerides, Tricalcium Phosphate), Cocoa Processed With Alkali, Cookie Pieces (Sugar, Tapioca Starch, Rice Flour, Cocoa Processed With Alkali, Palm Oil, Corn Starch, Natural Flavors, Salt, Sodium Bicarbonate, Soy Lecithin), Natural & Artificial Flavor, Salt, Gum Blend (Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Carrageenan), Sunflower Lecithin, Sucralose, Acesulfame Potassium, Silicon Dioxide.

I am, however, concerned about how the products are produced: whether animal rennet is used in the production.

Thank you very much for your time and attention.

It’s fine. The rennet, if used, must be listed.

This is not cheese which has its own gezera

1 Like